Twilight Shocker…

Thursday July 30, 02:02 PM

Lefevre shocked over ‘Twilight’ dumping

By Yahoo!Xtra Entertainment

Summit Entertainment’s decision to replace Rachelle Lefevre in the upcoming Twilight movie, Eclipse, was a shock to actress herself as well as fans of the series.

Yesterday the company announced that redheaded actress Bryce Dallas Howard, daughter of director Ron Howard, would replace Lefevre as vampire Victoria in Eclipse, due to begin filming in Vancouver on August 17.

Summit blamed ‘scheduling conflicts’ for the decision to replace the 30-year-old Canadian with Howard, who last appeared on the big screen in Terminator: Salvation.

Lefevre has played Victoria through previous two instalments of the series – Twilight, released last year, and the upcoming New Moon.

The actress has a role in independent film Barney’s Version, co-starring Paul Giamatti, also due to begin filming on August 17 in Quebec, on the other side of Canada.

Rachelle Lefevre released this statement to the media today.

“I was stunned by Summit’s decision to recast the role of Victoria for Eclipse. I was fully committed to the Twilight saga, and to the portrayal of Victoria. I turned down several other film opportunities and, in accordance with my contractual rights, accepted only roles that would involve very short shooting schedules.

“My commitment to Barney’s Version is only 10 days. Summit picked up my option for Eclipse. Although the production schedule for Eclipse is over three months long, Summit said they had a conflict during those 10 days and would not accommodate me. Given the length of filming for Eclipse, never did I fathom I would lose the role over a 10-day overlap. I was happy with my contract with Summit and was fully prepared to continue to honour it. Summit chose simply to recast the part.

“I am greatly saddened that I will not get to complete my portrayal of Victoria for the Twilight audience. This is a story, a theatrical journey and a character that I truly love and about which I am very passionate. I will be forever grateful to the fan support and loyalty I’ve received since being cast for this role, and I am hurt deeply by Summit’s surprising decision to move on without me. I wish the cast and crew of Eclipse only the very best.”

Fans of the Twilight series have already taken their fight for Summit to retain Lefevre public online.

Ok, to be honest i’m not much of a Twilight fan anymore. That obsession died out ages ago. But i do think this is kind of sad. This article’s from Yahoo! so it’s believable. If she was backing out of this, then i think it would have been all gud but Summit Entertainment is just…cutting her out. That’s not nice. I’ve always thought there was something…cold about Summit. Although i think her little farewell statement is a bit overdoing it, i think it’s sad and rather stupid to cut her off like this. I mean, she was part of the reason Twilight rocketed last year. You can’t deny that; there are heaps of fans out there that would hate to see her leave. And if Summit takes her out, they might just lower the number of Twilight lovers. But maybe i’m jumping to conclusions here. No matter how trustworthy Yahoo! is, it’s still media and who can trust the media?

Snappy

Well…that’s my opinion. So what do you guys think? I assume there’s a lot (and i mean a LOT) of Twilight Fans out there. So don’t be shy to drop us a comment about what you think about this and come back to check out for more news!! Later.


About ebonyink

Just two average (ish) teenagers :) View all posts by ebonyink

Leave a Reply

