The Haka

Since I put in a Maori words section, I thought I’d put in the Haka as well, New Zealand and the All Blacks’ signature chant. I love watching the Haka, especially when it’s the All Blacks doing it. 🙂
The Haka is a Maori war dance, traditionally done prior to going into battle.


Leader: Ringa pakia! Slap hands against thighs!
Uma tiraha! Puff out chest.
Turi whatia! Bend knees!
Hope whai ake! Let the hip follow!
Waewae takahia kia kino! Stamp the feet as hard as you can!
Leader: Ka mate, ka mate ‘I die, I die,
Team: Ka ora’ Ka ora’ ‘I live, ‘I live,
Leader: Ka mate, ka mate ‘I die, ‘I die
Team: Ka ora Ka ora “ ‘I live, ‘I live,
All: Tēnei te tangata pūhuruhuru This is the hairy man
Nāna i tiki mai whakawhiti te rā …Who caused the sun to shine again for me
Upane… Upane Up the ladder, Up the ladder
Upane Kaupane” Up to the top
Whiti te rā,! The sun shines!
Hī! Rise!

I couldn’t decide which video I liked better, so i put in both of them!

The ref is looking really uncomfortable, it’s soo funny!! And i think this is one of the best Hakas i have seen in a while.

This one is slightly better quality, it’s All Blacks VS England, 2004. It’s a while ago, but you the most awesome part is looking at the opposing team, and their faces.

About ebonyink

Just two average (ish) teenagers :) View all posts by ebonyink

Leave a Reply

